top of page

Capturing Characters & Making Memories


A few weeks ago, I was lucky enough to spot a model call on Facebook from the fabulous: Little Feather Photography... The next morning, Bear & I travelled the short distance to Lottie's studio. I've always been a lover of the art that is created when a professional photographer is working with a subject they love. As much as smart phone cameras are improving year after year...and I am always blown over by the sheer talent of people who photograph purely with their phones...for me, there really is nothing better than a big chunky camera in the hands of a talented artist. I have always been slightly wary about taking Ted to have his photos taken. I didn't want him to be overwhelmed or bewildered about what was happening. Smart phones nowadays are so small that I can take photos without Bear even realising, when he's playing with his Daddy or when his attention is caught by something else in the room, like a toy or the dog. But, I (obviously) am not a professional and having professional photos of my child or dogs or horses will always be something I covet. Visiting Lottie has banished all my fears of Ted being overwhelmed. I wouldn't hesitate to visit her again and again and again...I know for certain that if I want some milestone photos, I will be visiting her. Immediately upon arrival, I felt at ease...even though Bear was very cross to have been woken up, Lottie welcomed us like old friends. Entering Lottie's studio...you feel immediately at home. With simple white walls, and white wooden floor, the room is simplistic and cosy with gauzy white curtains that lend a carefree, beachy feel to the surroundings.

Lottie is well stocked with different toys to play with, gorgeous wooden animals and soft grey plush toys blend in with the photographs and ensure that baby feels happy and comfortable enjoying playtime on the floor or in the simple white cot. The part I loved most of all from my whole experience, was that I felt like Ted & I spent some lovely time together playing, whilst Lottie snapped away. In every photo, I am just out of shot, so Lottie was able to capture Ted's real personality when he's interacting with someone he knows very well; instead of him smiling at the camera on demand for every shot. The results, for me, are just stunning. I was worried at first about trying to make Ted smile for all the photos but Lottie took the pressure off me completely by just simply saying to me that he didn't need to be smiling if he didn't want to. This is why I felt so at ease I think. It wasn't a pressured situation where Ted had to sit still and smile at the camera. It was just playtime for him, and every so often, Lottie would say his name so he would look directly at her. My favourite photo of all, Ted is staring directly at the camera, with no smile. I think it captures the old fashioned look he has about him sometimes. He has such a serious little face, with expressions that appear older than he is.

I had such a positive experience with Little Feather Photography, I can't wait for our next visit. If I wasn't so adverse to having my own photo taken, I would absolutely book into a Mummy & Me session with Lottie. I can't recommend Little Feather Photography enough for anyone who wants pure, beautiful photos of their little ones. Until next time x


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page