top of page

The Big Day

...came a little earlier than expected! 

As some of you may have seen by now, Lady has moved to her new livery yard albeit a few days earlier than expected. Due to move on Sunday, our transport very sadly fell through due to lorry trouble. We were lucky enough to find someone willing to take us but they could only move us that afternoon (yesterday)! I was so grateful that I'd prepped so much beforehand, all we had to do was catch Lady, give her a brush and away we go! 

However, me being me, couldn't bear to see the horse arrive at our new yard with a mane down to her shoulders. So I whipped out my clippers and went to hog her quickly. Yet again, me being me, something had to go wrong! Halfway up the cobs mane...my clippers stopped working. 

The panic was setting in! Up I run to the top yard to beg my sister-in-Law for hers. 

Clippers in hand, I run back down to bottom yard and quickly hog the rest of her mane. Finally she's starting to look like the mare I remember! 

Up into the lorry, a short 20 minute drive and we arrive at our new livery. It's so perfect, with a nice school and only ten other liveries. 

This morning, after going to Bear's swimming lesson, we popped up to see how Lady was settling in. She was happy as larry grazing in her little paddock. I grabbed her in quickly to have a brush and neaten up her very hairy bits! I've put a couple of photos below, it's crazy how a hogged mane can make her look so different. 

The first photo is her straight from the field. Second photo is after a brush and neaten up this afternoon. 

She's still very hairy and needs a clip. What do you think? Are you a year round clipper? Or are you precious about allowing the summer coat to come through naturally? I'm tempted to clip, especially as I know she'll get sweaty during schooling sessions when she still has such a thick winter coat! It makes sense to clip for that reason. 

It was nice today to realise that Lady has benefited from some time in the field being turned away. She seems to have matured and gained some manners which surprised me! Must have been those pesky broodmares she spent the summer with scaring some politeness into her! 

I'd love to hear how your 2018 horsey plans and goals are going so far! Make sure you subscribe to the blog to be the first to know about any new uploads. 

Until next time x 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page